14th Nordic Summer Symposium in Macroeconomics

Raseborg, Finland, August 10-13, 2022

The symposium is an academic research conference primarily aimed at promoting frontier contributions by junior macroeconomic researchers. The symposium allows the junior researchers to present and discuss their research and to receive advice and constructive criticism from more senior macroeconomic scholars.


Svartå Manor (Mustion Linna), a countryside hotel surrounded by a beautiful park and a river, about 80 km from Helsinki.

We assume all participants stay the whole conference arriving at lunch August 10 and leaving after lunch August 13.

The event (including accommodation and meals) is free of charge for all participants. Some financial support for travel expenses is available for PhD students.


Papers on all topics broadly associated with macroeconomics are welcome including “standard” macroeconomic analysis (real and monetary business cycles, labour markets, growth etc.) and issues such as public finance, human capital accumulation, firm dynamics, asset pricing, heterogeneous agents, income distribution, credit markets and political economy.

Keynote Speaker

Vincent Sterk, University College London

Why should apply?

The conference is primarily created to promote and facilitate the work of junior researchers. Researchers with an interest in or connection to the Nordic and Baltic countries are particularly appreciated but the call is open to all junior applicants. Junior refers to those about to graduate from a PhD program, assistant professors, and recently tenured senior professors.

Paper submission procedure

Send papers or extended abstracts to info-hgse(at)aalto.fi.



If you have any questions about the symposium, please contact Niku Määttänen (niku.maattanen(at)helsinki.fi)

Organizing committee

  • Timo Boppart, IIES, Stockholm University
  • Gauti Eggertsson, Brown University
  • Kurt Mitman, IIES, Stockholm University
  • Niku Määttänen, University of Helsinki and Helsinki Graduate School of Economics
  • Morten O. Ravn, University College London
  • Kjetil Storesletten, University of Minnesota
  • Johanna Wallenius, Stockholm School of Economics
Helsinki GSE